World Cup: overrated and terrible (and I still watched it)

They run around and kick the ball. It’s a technique, it’s talent, it’s not something everybody can do. Not well, at least. They’re the true sportsmen. The talents. The heroes we praise. For what? For the ability to run fast and score?

I watched the World Cup games, of course. With summer hiatus and no good shows on TV, I had no choice. I could have picked up a book, I could have gone out and saw my friends but I chose the games of World Cup. I had to cheer for America! I shouted at TV with everyone else and cringed when they missed.

I don’t know how many hours I wasted watching the Cup….but I am not mad about the hours. I am mad about the fact that a billion people wasted all those hours with me.

We cheered and cried for the sportsmen who don’t contribute to our society at all; or they do in such a minimal way. Ronaldo, Messi, Robbin, Zidane, Ronaldinho etc. they get/used to get millions to play with the damn ball. Why aren’t our doctors, researches, scientists who actually contribute to the society and make the world better praised like this? Why aren’t their discoveries broadcast to a billion people? Why do we all know Zidane got a red card in 2006 in the final of the World Cup but we don’t know what was discovered that year?

World Cup is a terrible event for many reasons: its obvious cheating, overpaid and overconfident players who think they are the next best thing and a contribution to society just because they know how to kick. Meh.

P.S: If you have time: http://edition.cnn.com/2013/06/05/health/lifeswork-medical-advances/

Leave a Reply

